LOG IN SIGN UP
Documentation

User roles and how to change them

  Last updated August 08, 2017

Your Fastly account can be managed by multiple users. Users can be added to your account by by invitation, with their roles assigned and changed by superusers at any time via the web interface or via the API.

Assignable user roles

Fastly allows you to assign one of four different roles to each user who has access to your account:

User Billing Engineer Superuser
Analytics & Stats
Select a service X X X X
Select a datacenter X X X X
Configure
Create and delete services X X
Configure services X X
Compare service versions X X
Deactivate services X X
Purge X X
View and download generated VCL X X
Customize VCL X X
Account & Organization
Update personal profile settings X X X X
Update company settings X
Invite all new user roles X
Invite new engineer and user roles only X
Assign and change user roles X
Issue password resets X
Delete user accounts X
Enable and disable personal 2FA X X X X
Enable and disable company-wide 2FA X
Manage personal API tokens X X X X
Revoke account API tokens X
Billing
View invoices X X
View billing history X X
Pay bills X X
Update credit card info X X
Change account type X X

Changing roles for existing users

Follow these instructions to change the roles for existing users:

  1. Log in to the Fastly web interface and click the Account link from the user menu. Your account information appears.
  2. Click the User management link. The User management page appears.
  3. In the Users area, click the gear icon next to a user name and then select Edit from the menu that appears. The Edit User window appears for the selected user.

    the edit user window

  4. From the Role menu, select a role for the user.
  5. Click Update. The user's role will be changed.

Account ownership and how to transfer it

We assign account "ownership" to the first user who signs up for an account for your organization. We automatically assign owners the superuser role, though that role can be changed by another superuser once additional users are added.

Accounts can only be canceled by owners. In addition, account owners serve as the primary point of contact for billing purposes. Invoices are sent to them, but if a specific billing contact has been defined for an account, invoices go to that contact instead.

To transfer account ownership to another user, contact support@fastly.com for assistance.


Back to Top