LOG IN SIGN UP
Documentation

Working with services

The Fastly application allows you to create new services or edit existing ones and then activate your changes once you have things configured. The application also allows you to do other things with existing services, like rename them, compare them to each other, deactivate and reactivate them, and delete them.

Creating a new service

To create a new service, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the Fastly application.
  2. Click the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the window).

    the configure tab

  3. At the top right of the window, click the green New Service button.

    the main service configuration controls with the New Service button above them

    The New Service window appears.

    the New Service window

  4. Fill out the New Service window as follows:

    • In the Name field, type the name of the first service you'd like to create. You can rename this service at any time.
    • In the Origin Server Address field, type the IP address (or hostname) and port number (usually 80) for your website's server.
    • In the Domain Name field, type the domain name of your website. We need this information to properly route requests to your website.
  5. Click the Create button. A new service appears in the list of services available.

Once you've created a new service, you still need to activate it so your configuration of that service will take effect.

Service versions and their activation

You must "activate" new services or changes to existing services in order to deploy their configurations. Any time you create a new service, the Fastly application places your new creation in an inactive or "locked" state. The same is true any time you edit an existing service. Configuration changes are never automatically deployed.

To immediately activate a new service or deploy changes to an existing service, click the Activate button:

service configuration controls showing the activate button on an example service

Editing an existing service

Any time you activate a new version of a service, the system automatically creates a copy of it as a new development version for you to edit later.

For example, if we activate Version 8 of our service, the system will make a copy of it, label it "Version 9" and place it at the top of the list of recent development versions available for editing:

service development versions and activation history

Click the linked development version to begin editing a copy of your existing service.

Alternatively, you can clone any existing service version, active or inactive, and begin editing that cloned version instead. To clone a service version:

  1. Log in to the Fastly application and click the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the window).
  2. From the Service menu, select the appropriate service.
  3. From the Version menu, select the number of the version you wish to clone.
  4. Click the Clone button. A new service version appears in the list of recent development versions.

Other things you can do with services

In addition to creating or editing services, we allow you to rename them, compare versions of them, deactivate or reactivate specific version of them, and delete them.

Renaming services

To rename your service at any time, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the Fastly application and click the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the window).
  2. From the Service menu, select the appropriate service.
  3. Click the service name next to the pencil icon. The service name will become editable.

    an editable service name

  4. Type the new service name and then press return (or Enter) on your keyboard. The new service name appears.

Comparing different service versions

To compare two versions of a service, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the Fastly application and click the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the window).
  2. From the Service menu, select the appropriate service.
  3. Click the Diff Versions button to the right of the service name.

    the main service configuration controls

    The Diff Versions window appears. Removals between compared versions are highlighted in red with a minus sign at the beginning of the line. Additions are highlighted in green with a plus sign at the beginning of the line.

    an example comparison of two service versions

    You can change the compared service versions by selecting a different number in the selection menus.

Deactivating and reactivating services

To reactivate or deactivate a service, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to the Fastly application and click on the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the application window).
  2. From the Service menu, select the appropriate service.
  3. Click the yellow Activate or Deactivate button to the right of the service name as appropriate.

You can also activate or deactivate a service via the API. Did you accidentally delete a service? We can help.

Deleting a service

Fastly allows you to delete any service you create, along with all of its versions. Fastly does not offer a way to delete specific versions of a service, however. Service versions are meant to be an historic log of the changes that were made to a service. To undo changes introduced by a particular service version, you can always go back to a previous version and reactivate it or clone a new service version based on any old version.

To delete any service along with all of its versions, follow the steps below.

  1. Log in to the Fastly application and click on the configure button (the wrench icon at the top of the application window).
  2. From the Service menu, select the appropriate service.
  3. Click the blue Configure button.
  4. Select the latest version of your service. If that version is locked, make a new version of it by clicking the Clone button at the top of the screen.
  5. In the Domains area, click the gear icon to the right of each domain associated with this service and then select Delete from the menu that appears (you'll be asked to confirm the deletion).

  6. Click the configure tab at the top of the screen again. The configuration control panel reappears.

  7. Click the yellow Deactivate button to the right of the service name.

    the Deactivate button on the control panel

    The Deactivate Service warning appears.

    the Deactivate Service warning

  8. Click the red Deactivate button to confirm you want to deactivate your service and acknowledge that you no longer want to serve traffic with it. The Delete button becomes active on the control panel.

    an active delete button

  9. Click the red Delete button to the right of the service name. The Confirm Delete window appears.

    the Confirm Delete window

  10. Click the red Confirm button to confirm that you want to delete the service.

Getting help with accidental service deletions

Services can be deactivated or deleted. Deactivated services can be reactivated at any time, but once they've been deleted you must contact Customer Support to have them restored. When sending your request, please remember to include:

Customer Support will notify you when your service has been restored.